Will 2020 coins become "key dates"?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by physics-fan3.14, Mar 27, 2020.

1. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

The mint announced that they are changing release dates for some products: https://coinweek.com/us-mint-news/i...ct-release-dates-from-the-united-states-mint/

In the early days of the mint, the yellow fever epidemic forced the mint to close.

I realize that this is speculation, but could the current pandemic force the mint to reduce production, reduce the number of products they issue, or reduce the overall mintage? Will a lower demand caused by the economic troubles cause less people to buy extraneous issues? Will 2020 coins become "key dates?"

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

:cigar:.. 2020 as key dates? Interesting concept! :wideyed:

spirityoda likes this.
  4. okbustchaser

okbustchaser I may be old but I still appreciate a pretty bust Supporter

Not the coins, but the extraneous bullion crap they put out very well could be.

micbraun, YoloBagels and Inspector43 like this.
  5. BuffaloHunter

BuffaloHunter Short of a full herd Supporter

I can certainly see it happening. Anything that has been enacted by Congress has to move forward, correct? So even a limited amount of a certain design would have to be coined, no?

6. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

We'll see in the future. Hindsight is 2020. See what I did? :headphone:

TypeCoin971793, ldhair and alurid like this.
  7. Santinidollar

Santinidollar Supporter! Supporter

Maybe nickels and dimes and quarters. The zinc Lincolns will eventually self destruct like all the others will.

8. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member