Widow's Mites...

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Tyler Miller, Apr 3, 2019.

1. Tyler Miller

Tyler Miller New Member

Hi, I'm new to ancient coin collecting. I just bought these Widow's Mites from reputable sources and I was wondering if they are authentic and what grade these might be? They seem quite a bit better than a lot featured on ebay. Also should I go for cleaning them? Forgive my lack of knowledge, these purchases are my first step into the coin world. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. 7Calbrey

7Calbrey Well-Known Member

They just look genuine to me..

philologus_1 and Paul M. like this.
  4. Ocatarinetabellatchitchix

Ocatarinetabellatchitchix Well-Known Member

I wouldn’t be able to distinguish a genuine Prutah from a fake one. Certainly @Deacon Ray could give you his opinion on this subject. Here are some copies from Forum Fake Coin Reports:

47A9A21B-C7BE-4F31-906C-0FAF1AAEC18D.jpeg

5. Ken Dorney

Ken Dorney Yea, I'm Cool That Way...

They are genuine, VF in my humble opinion but with surface issues.

Alegandron, ominus1 and Paul M. like this.
  6. Nemo

Nemo Well-Known Member

Looks to me that the "sand" was applied to improve appearance.

7. Deacon Ray

Deacon Ray Artist & Historian Supporter

Reply to @Ocatarinetabellatchitchix

I think I'll have to go along with FORVM's opinion on these being reproductions. The specimens in your/FORVM's photo appear to be too thick and smooth edged. They're interesting though.

Here are some that I purchased through the L. Alexander Wolfe Company in Jerusalem. See how thin and irregularly shaped they look by comparison.

MITES3.jpg

Last edited: Apr 4, 2019
  8. Nemo

Nemo Well-Known Member

The coins in the Forum fake reports are not matches to the op coins

Jay GT4 and Deacon Ray like this.
  9. rrdenarius

rrdenarius non omnibus dormio Supporter