Who would take the time?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by wannahocalugie, Oct 7, 2019.

1. wannahocalugie

wannahocalugie New Member

I found this in the collection and I know Jack did not do this as he never had patience for anything. Who would take the time to carve it out and deface an old coin? Wild right? Won't ever know if it had a mint mark, but still kinda cool.

Attached Files:

Stevearino likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Sold as a jewelry item at a flea market, could bring $5-$10... so if you have the skill and time, why not

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It was Jill who carved it.. She loved to carve many things.

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

It's surprising how many people did this like this to coins. It's well done and worth a few dollars. I'm sure Jack picked it up in his travels. At least it's a common date and for an Indian Head Cent dated 1905 there would be no mintmark.

Paul M. and Stevearino like this.
  6. messydesk

messydesk Well-Known Member

People make all sorts of things out of coins. Go here, scroll down to the "Eclectic Numismatic Treasures" entries, and follow each link to part of an amazing collection of some pretty cool stuff. Get yourself a fresh cup of coffee and prepare to spend a bit of time perusing.

There's a cut-out $20 Saint in there somewhere. The date looks like 1921, but it was actually a 1924 coin that was cut.

Stevearino and Johndoe2000$ like this.
  7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Back in the 70's, I would accompany my Mom to arts & crafts shows in and around the Maryland eastern shore. There was always someone set up to sell and display their handiwork making this kind of jewelry.