Where to start, inherited collection

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by JeffsRealm, Aug 25, 2016.

1. JeffsRealm

JeffsRealm Active Member

Hi,

I am new to coins and collecting. I have been lurking in the forums and reading here for the past couple months. I have been following links and trying to educate myself, I have purchased the latest Red Book and been going through coin facts. So I think I have some of that covered, however I am sure I am going to be learning a lot and getting extreme crash courses in coins very shortly.

So my mother passed away back in May this year. As with any death you focus on the big things first, cars, house, furniture, as well as other accounts. You have to file taxes and everything. One thing that was specifically willed to me along with the containers was her coin collection. To call it a collection I guess is well not really a collection as one would think.

My mom was sentimental in various ways and one thing she always told us growing up is to save various pennies you just find laying about. They are pennies from heaven, that someone was thinking of you. She learned this from her mother. Which she also inherited her pennies she found. As us kids grew up we also added pennies to moms collection, and we would add them to her stash. We also did this with Wheat Pennies we got as change as they were "special".