Where do you keep your collection?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by jmf2737, Apr 16, 2011.

1. jmf2737

jmf2737 New Member

I'm guessing most of you guys have a safety deposit box at the bank. Since I'm just starting out and don't have anything extremely valuable yet, I'm not to that level yet (although I hope to be someday:))

Right now I keep all my notes in the sleeves in a Sentry lock box in my apartment similar to this:

http://www.sentrysafe.com/Products/1/1100_Fire_Chest

Is this OK, or do you experts recommend anything else to store notes in?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. zekeguzz

zekeguzz lmc freak

I live in an apartment too.It is an 8 floor concrete building with a guard in the lobby. People coming in the back door have to be recognized before being buzzed in. No break-in robberies have ever occurred here in 20+ years. I don't have a sentrysafe or anything......yet. I do have a safety deposit box.
    If your building is not secure I recommend you get a small safe and bolt it down in a closet. That is my humble opinion.
    If someone breaks into your apt. they can very easily carry off your sentrysafe brief case type safe.

4. sgiorgis

sgiorgis Student of Numismatics

in a convenient location where I can enjoy them! ;)
    Steve

5. jmf2737

jmf2737 New Member

I live in an apt in a house actually. Decent neighborhood (I know that means nothing these days.) Someone's always home and the guy across the street is in everybody's business too. The way the house is situated, it would be hard to break in there.

You're right though, I always think about if someone breaks in, how useless that sentry safe is if someone could just carry it out and pry it open, lol.

I wonder, does a safe always have to be bolted down in a closet if its wedged in tight? Not sure if I want to put bolts in the floor in a house that's not mine even though I've been there a long time.

6. jmf2737

jmf2737 New Member