When are MADs worth keeping?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by SorenCoins, Oct 21, 2018.

1. SorenCoins

SorenCoins Well-Known Member

Here I have two Jefferson nickel MADs that appear to be stronger than typical, seeming to show a bit of design creep. When are these worth keeping? I know they are very common but how much does it take for them to be slightly valuable?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Legoman1

Legoman1 Active Member

At least 10% off center, and for part of the design to be missing.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Legoman1 likes this.
  5. SlipperySocks

SlipperySocks Well-Known Member

So I would like to know the answer to the OP's question, When are MAD's worth keeping/become valuable over face?

SorenCoins likes this.
  6. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Think of it this way: when does it become valuable to you? When would you see one on eBay and actually consider buying it? That might be your best answer.

SorenCoins and Mountain Man like this.
  7. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

When the die is misaligned far enough that part of the design it off the edge of the planchet. (these don't happen for long because if it is that far off the face of the die is smacking the edge of the collar with every cycle of the press.)

8. SorenCoins

Interesting. These two have a very small amount of design creep but surprisingly the 71-D still has a rim, just very thin. I think I'll keep these two, I like the look of them :)

9. Seattlite86

This is the most pronounced MAD I’ve seen on a Lincoln cent. I just found it. I doubt it has much of a premium at all, but to me it’s definitely a keeper. I keep a few MADs that don’t have a premium, but I still like them.

91EA0997-BFA1-45D1-9029-61472F721891.jpeg A9438FD3-4E74-4667-B4B2-D459BFA8FE6C.jpeg

SorenCoins and Bambam8778 like this.
  10. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member