Wheel Marks - What are they and why does NGC even care?!

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by paddyman98, Dec 24, 2016.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hi all,
    Every now and then I see as part of a NGC attribution the words WHEEL MARK
    I guess it's bad enough for them to give this designation.. for me they are annoying!

Here is their definition - Quote - "Wheel marks are a concentrated area of hairlines that are caused by the rubber wheels in coin counting machines. When there is insufficient spacing between them, the wheels can essentially polish a small portion of the surface of the coin." closed quote

I want to share this webpage with you - https://www.ngccoin.com/news/article/4412/Wheel-Marks/

Here are my Error "WHEEL MARK" coins from my collection
    455080-018+.JPG 455080-020+.JPG 2443663-004+.JPG 2591113-004+.JPG 2591926-002+.JPG 2646920-008.JPG 3443077-003+2.JPG 3443077-004+2.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

Wheel marks are very easily overlooked, even victimizing dealers sometimes.

It's far easier to show someone in person, but I'll try to describe how to detect them in words . . . a difficult task , at best. Give me a few minutes, and I'll try to come up with something in a subsequent post.

- Mike

Paul M. and paddyman98 like this.
  4. ToughCOINS

Here's the best I can do in writing . . .

Because of their fineness, and perfectly parallel orientation, the wheel marks usually are apparent only from two opposite vantage points, both 90 degrees to the lines, and at shallow viewing angles.

Be sure to rotate the coin completely around all 360 degrees of arc to make sure you are not missing wheel marks that may be there, as they can be extremely difficult to detect.

- Mike

Last edited: Dec 24, 2016
    Kasia, Insider, Santinidollar and 2 others like this.
  5. paddyman98