What's wrong with this Morgan??

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by DysfunctionalVeteran, Sep 26, 2016.

1. DysfunctionalVeteran

DysfunctionalVeteran Oddly enough

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. heavycam.monstervam

heavycam.monstervam Outlaw Trucker & Coin Hillbilly

This is an easy one, 4 me, so I'll let someone else, give the big reveal......

5. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

looks like a rim cud and PVC damage

kaosleeroy108 likes this.
  6. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

It's a small deep lamination. You can see partial dentical formation and a small unpeeled portion on the upper outter rim area

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  7. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Planchet flaw on rim and tape residue on the reverse.

8. heavycam.monstervam

Well, frig......
    I guess it AINT SO EASY AFTER ALL....
    I was gonna say struck thru grease-
    With the big clue, being the same issue on the reverse stars....:wideyed:
    Anyone else????

9. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

Aside what looks like a flan flaw on the obverse and evidence that the coin was once glued to something on the reverse, I can't see enough detail to make any guesses I'd consider intelligent. Not convinced there *is* detail missing on the reverse stars yet; could be just the lighting.

10. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

The photo is not sharp enough or magnified enough. The characteristic on the rim is INTO the coin so it is either a strike thru, or planchet flaw. Planchet flaw covers a bunch of things - such as a missing portion of the original blank or a piece that came out. I think I see a peeled up tear on the rim of the flaw so now I'm leaning to a lamination (planchet flaw). If you take a photo of the edge I'll know for sure.