What's this kind of error called?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Tin_Man_0, Feb 5, 2019.

1. Tin_Man_0

Tin_Man_0 Active Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

the ring going through WE TRUST is a Ridge Ring associated with Die Deterioration/Deformation.
    The thing on the edge? .. damage ??

quote from https://www.coinworld.com/news/worl...-raised-rings-on-world-coins-remains.all.html

I see damage on the bust too ..

Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Damage om the edge IMHO

5. Tin_Man_0

Tin_Man_0 Active Member

Deterioration? No way, I need to put up more pictures there. That edge there isn't a downward slope but and upward slope and it is inline with the rest of the rim of the coin. It's the strike that is off I think. Let me put up better pictures.

6. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

That is die deterioration. Along with damage to the rim.

7. Tin_Man_0

Tin_Man_0 Active Member

8. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

Die deterioration and Damage to the rim. You can post all the photos you want but that doesn't change what it is.

9. Tin_Man_0

Tin_Man_0 Active Member

It's like it has two rims at the top of the coin and they merge into one rim by the time it gets to the bottom.

10. Clawcoins

YES
    EXACTLY !!

read up on it ...
    https://www.coinworld.com/news/us-c...can-render-coins-letters-illegible-o.all.html

https://www.coinworld.com/news/us-c...aised-doubling-may-represent-plating.all.html

if you google "Ridge Ring" and "Die Deterioration" .. you'll get plenty of reading material on it with pictures that look exactly the same.

As a die pounds away at hundreds of thousands of planchets, the working face undergoes slow deformation that is referred to as die wear or die deterioration. Formerly crisp numbers and letters frequently become bloated and irregular,