What's on my coin?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by talley, Dec 23, 2009.

1. talley

talley Member

I got this 1984 Proof Set the other day. What's going on with the Penny? If I am correct, toning isn't a build up on the surface of the coin, is it? Whatever is on this coin seems to be on the surface. And now that I look closer, it seems to be happening to the Dime as well.

I have two other 1984 Proof sets that are just fine.
    The coins aren't scratched, just the case.

Since I have this proof set in triplicate, would it be a good idea to open this slab and put these coins in 2x2's?

The Reverse looks the same.

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm still kind of new with this.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mark_h

mark_h Somewhere over the rainbow

Good question. Never seen one look like this, but it looks like corrosion is eating the coin. I personally would break them out. From blowing the slab up it almost looks like moisture got into it. Just my humble opinion.

4. fretboard

fretboard Defender of Old Coinage!

Yeah, you gotta break those puppies outta there and give that Lincoln some relief. Which reminds me, I need some Rolaids. :D

I am thinking that somehow some moisture got on that Lincoln cent and ruined it with corrosion. I can not really tell b/c I don't have it in hand but as far as toning goes it's bad. Yes, toning does cover the coin but not like that.

That's a toning job from hell!! :D

5. Lehigh96

Lehigh96 Toning Enthusiast

That thing is toast. Put it into circulation and see if anyone shows up here asking "what is this?"

6. tchummer

tchummer Junior Member

that would be cool.

7. Breakdown

Breakdown Member

I hate to say it but something is going on with the lower half of that Kennedy as well.

8. Troodon

Troodon Coin Collector