What's It Worth?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Jim Johns, Sep 16, 2016.

1. Jim Johns

Jim Johns Active Member

Had this one for a while. Just wondering some opinions on pricing and if it would be best to send it to NGC or just sell it raw. IMO I think it's pretty cool to still have the original box from the bank as far as collectable appeal. Thought and opinions?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney Well-Known Member

4. Jim Johns

Jim Johns Active Member

Aww jeez here we go... I'm not a professional and I'm not going to argue. However, I will point out that it states right in the package it had never been removed from the mint bag until it was placed in that holder. I assume it continued to tone from exposure to sulfur in the bag, but I could be wrong. I guess it depends what your definition of AT would be, but I consider it to be the same as album toning at minimum. Again, not trying to argue but better insight from where you draw that conclusion would maybe help me understand how it is artificial.

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I believe the toning is NT. I've had a few graded by NGC that look very similar, one of which is shown below. This 1896 MS64 sold for $100 a couple of years ago. I don't think yours would grade MS64, so it may not be worth submitting for grading. Whether or not the bank COA & box would attract more bidders is anybody's guess.

Chris

1896 OBV.jpg

1896 REV.jpg

6. Lon Chaney

It'd be interesting to have a bag of New Orleans Morgans shipped to Oregon in 1883. Seems like a lot of hassle when San Francisco is basically right there.
    Just saying I may not trust the story on the cardboard.

Truth1253 likes this.
  7. Jim Johns

Jim Johns Active Member

Thank you Chris. I wonder if the 1896 would be around the same value as the 1883 O when it comes to toning? That was a nice coin I just see the 1896 with rainbows more often is what I mean.