what makes a star note rare or valuable?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by bryantallard, Apr 29, 2020.

1. bryantallard

bryantallard show me the money....so i can look through it

other than obvious factors... condition, run size, total printed, serial number(low number/fancy serial)… what are the NOT obvious factors? like, does the district play a part? do the block letters play a part? whatever you can tell me, I would very much appreciate it. thank you.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

EBay :greedy: :wacky:

bryantallard likes this.
  4. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

Scorecard sellers at ballparks across our country yell out, “You can’t tell the players without a scorecard.” This holds true with replacement (Star) notes also. Without a guide, either online or in written form, you really don’t know. Modern star notes are heavily dependent on condition for value and collectibility, whereas older notes can still be valuable in circulated condition. As a general rule, sheet replacement notes are more in demand and valuable than pack replacement notes, because there are much less of them. Districts play a major role also. The BEP printed 250K 2017 $1 Minneapolis replacement notes, which they hadn’t printed since series 1995, so these were in high demand and bring high prices even in circulated condition.

slackaction1 and bryantallard like this.
  5. Incharge

Incharge Active Member

6. bradgator2

bradgator2 Well-Known Member