What kind of currency is this?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by Cecilia, Aug 14, 2015.

1. Cecilia

Cecilia New Member

I've had this currency for a while. I am not sure where exactly it is from, but I am guessing Ukraine, 1994. I know its not used anymore, but I am very interested in learning the story behind it if anyone knows it. Thanks. 20150812_144147.jpg 20150812_144205.jpg

paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Cecilia likes this.
  4. lettow

lettow Senior Member

These notes are from Transnistria, a breakaway portion of Moldova bordering on Ukraine.

Cecilia likes this.
  5. doug5353

doug5353 Well-Known Member

Your notes are from Transnistria, shown here, and priced at 75 cents each:
    http://www.babylonbanknotes.com/transnistria.html

Just saw this is Wikipedia: "...Transnistria, Nagorno-Karabakh, Abkhazia, and South Ossetia are post-Soviet "frozen conflict" zones. These four partially recognized states maintain friendly relations with each other and form the Community for Democracy and Rights of Nations

All 4 entities are notorious for issuing lots of stamps (solely for collectors) of dubious authenticity.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
    Cecilia likes this.
  6. Cecilia

Cecilia New Member

Thanks! This really makes me happy.

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. doug5353

Tayikistan -- if you are thinking of Tajikistan, that's over north of Pakistan, thousands of miles from the Ukraine.

8. Cecilia

Cecilia New Member

I was assuming Ukraine because I was searching the "kynoh" that's written on the front of these bills. All that kept popping up in my searches was Ukraine. That's the only reason I assumed it was from there. Thanks everyone for the info, I feel more at ease now.

9. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I can't tell you anything about those notes, Cecilia, but welcome to the neighborhood just the same.

Chris