What is this early steam engine gadget? (engraved on pre-Civil War Seated half)

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by lordmarcovan, Oct 13, 2017.

1. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

It was so intriguing and unusual, I scooped it up. The host coin is a No Motto Seated Liberty half dollar from the New Orleans mint, so pre-1861. The engraving was done on the obverse of the host coin. The name is "A. F. Barnes".

Mystery Steam Engine.png

@dwhiz- nice companion piece to the "Ghost Train", wouldn't you say?

Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Could be some type of large woodshop machine. The upper top left are weights that spun around to stabilize the interior part of a working saw or planer. The middle part that is divided in 3 sections is where the wood would enter from the right and exit on the left in order to be cut or smoothed. This is just my guess :bucktooth:

serafino, Alegandron and lordmarcovan like this.
  4. MontCollector

MontCollector Well-Known Member

lordmarcovan likes this.
  5. lordmarcovan

Could be, but I very much doubt it. One, he was born and died in England. Two, he was a quite bit younger than one would expect our A.F. Barnes to be, if one assumes the engraving on this piece to have been done in the mid-19th century. Your British composer by that name was born in 1878. So while it's possible, it's doubtful.

@paddyman98- so some kind of sawmill equipment, you think, maybe? I'll follow that track and see what I come up with. Thanks.

paddyman98 likes this.
  6. lordmarcovan

Well, here's an animated GIF from Wikipedia that looks markedly similar - note that it has that little twirley-doohickey* with the balls on the end of it - though I can't say it's identical...

Found on the Stationary Steam Engine page.

[​IMG]
    * "Twirley-doohickey". It's a very scientific, technical term. ;)