What is a good way of getting coins without using money?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by SkullReap99, Apr 26, 2010.

1. SkullReap99

SkullReap99 Coin Collector

Hi. I am a beginner coin collector so I am not an expert on everything. But I have a question, what is a good way of getting coins without simply buying anything? I was just wondering

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ikandiggit

ikandiggit Currency Error Collector

4. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector

A mask and a gun?

5. Opus007

Opus007 Junior Member

LOL. I will be watching this thread for new ideas. LOL

6. Tom B

Tom B TomB Everywhere Else

Please! Somebody help this member with an answer so I can find out, too!

7. Rhino89

Rhino89 "Roubles"

Depeds on what you want to collect. If you are interested in collecting coins that are still in circulation, the answer is obvious - hoard your change and look at the coins to see which ones you want to keep.

But, if you have an interest in coins that no longer circulate, or coins that are foreign, the best thing for you to do is look at some catalogs and learn about what you want to get, how the coinsa are graded, and plan what you would like to have. Then, start slowly by investing a small amount of money (yes, you have to spend a little in the beginning to get started) and then you might be able to sell what you got for a small profit, and then use the profit to buy more coins, so at the end you may have a small, growing collection that you technically did not spend money on.

Those are the only 2 ways I can think of to get coins without spending money.

8. Opus007

Opus007 Junior Member

You have heard about the pot of Gold at the end of a Rainbow ?

9. LewR

LewR Junior Member

I was thinking a large punch press.....

But going through bags of circulated coins from your bank or credit union would be a great start - it's nice as you keep what you want and return the balance !!