What Has Happened To Our Hobby?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Randy Abercrombie, Apr 12, 2024.

1. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

Among last evenings morass of garbage emails, the image below showed up in one of them. Being curious, I went down the rabbit hole. This was a Pinterest image. When I followed the link there were dozens and dozens of comments attached to it. "Oh, I have one! Where can I cash it in?". All of the attached replies were similar. It really just hurt my heart.... So now I have to ask, has the web ruined our hobby?

Insanity.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

I see that crap all the time on my homepage. Luckily, they're just Ads. I also have seen ads for Utube videos on cashing in on coins. So sad. 1532319-3e00c060fee1126062890dadf5456f8e.jpg

paddyman98 likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Here are some of the stuff I see on my Google homepage on a daily basis..
    Screenshot_20240412-075427.png Screenshot_20240412-075347.png Screenshot_20240412-075314.png Screenshot_20240412-075125.png

5. longnine009

longnine009 Darwin has to eat too. Supporter

You'd think for 925 million you could get one that wasn't hairlined or die polished to death.

6. BRandM

BRandM Counterstamp Collector

Yeah, they're real beauties. I guess a million bucks doesn't go too far these days. I guess I'll just keep my million in my sock.:D

Bruce

Noah Finney, MIGuy, Spark1951 and 3 others like this.
  7. Randy Abercrombie

Rushmore and Dima like this.
  8. The Half Dime

The Half Dime Arrows!

If I'm gonna have a coin worth $925 million, I better have traveled to 2008 Zimbabwe, and I shall have a MS-71 coin. No imperfections will be visible upon 100x magnification.