What do you think?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Onofrio Bacigalupo, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Onofrio Bacigalupo

Onofrio Bacigalupo Well-Known Member

I've come to the conclusion that the only coins worth collecting are limited issued gold coins. The rest, with certain exceptions, aren't worth the time, trouble or space. So I'm upgrading my collection with gold and selling the rest.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. chrisild

chrisild Coin Collector

Depends on what the aim of a collection is. With fairly modern "mass production" coins you will indeed often spend more than you might later get if you want to sell any. But if somebody is interested in coins with certain themes or from a very specific period, he or she may very well not care about that aspect, or about gold. :)

Christian

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That is your opinion. You can do whatever you want.

5. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

That seems a very personal opinion, rather than a conclusion that all collectors of coins would agree with. Many of them would counter your statement by claiming a different type of coin to be more worthwhile.

You might preserve your investment pretty well in gold, but will you be able to make as many individual purchases to enjoy? Will you enjoy them as much if you need to keep them locked away in a more secure place than you presently use?

Santinidollar and SchwaVB57 like this.
  6. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Like Paddy said, what you choose to collect is your choice. I look at it this way if I was to take the money that I invested in state quarters, and invested that in the gold instead of state quarters I would've been a better off.

But like in life you make choices. I should listen to myself back in the year 2000.