What do you guys think about this seller - Real or Fake coins?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Xodus, Aug 28, 2021.

1. Xodus

Xodus Well-Known Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Evan Saltis

Evan Saltis OWNER - EBS Numis LLC Supporter

Im not an expert ny any means, but the tetredrachms, especially the top few look suspect to me at the least. I have no suggestion on the Ptolemy coins

Inspector43 and Xodus like this.
  4. Matthew Kruse

Matthew Kruse Young Numismatist

Without even looking at the coins, something looks fishy. Click sold listings and nearly everything he sold was best offer accepted. I think that is pretty suspect.
    04C18234-F84D-44E0-B8F6-D11B82B5C677.png

Inspector43 likes this.
  5. dltsrq

dltsrq Grumpy Old Man

How so? 'Best offer' is a standard eBay format (I have no opinion on the coins per se).

Last edited: Aug 28, 2021
    arnoldoe likes this.
  6. Matthew Kruse

Matthew Kruse Young Numismatist

Well lets say someone makes counterfeit coins in their garage and it costs $5 a coin to produce. They list one for $200 obo which is at or slightly below collector value. Someone makes an offer for $170 or $180. He is still making over $150 profit on the counterfeit coin. Some of his coins are listed above $500 as well so he could be making even more. (If they are actually counterfeit.)

Compared to a dealer who buys and resells coins. He spends $150 on a coin and lists it for $200 obo, hoping for a $50 profit. The dealer would be a lot less likely to accept $170 or $180 for the coin than a counterfeiter, because that significantly effects his profit margins.

UncleScroge likes this.
  7. Barry Murphy

Barry Murphy Well-Known Member

Most look perfectly fine.

Barry Murphy

Kentucky, Xodus, Factor and 5 others like this.
  8. hotwheelsearl

hotwheelsearl Well-Known Member

Some of the silver coins have a rather porous appearance to them. I’d be suspect. Plus, the Vespasian aureus has a rather mushy appearance.