What could have caused this? 1942 d cent

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by longarm, Jun 9, 2017.

1. longarm

longarm Well-Known Member

I found this cent and have no idea what could have caused it. Any guesses? 1942dOBV-1.jpg 1942dOBV-2.jpg 1942dOBV-3.jpg 1942dOBV-4.jpg 1942dOBV-5.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Yankee42

Yankee42 Well-Known Member

Soldering?

Paddy54 likes this.
  4. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

That's what it looks like to me a copper wire soldered through the date. Now the real question what was Einstein trying to achieve ?

5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Maybe a coin to trip a vending machine?

Paddy54 likes this.
  6. longarm

At each end you can see what looks like a die crack that's raised.

7. Tyler Graton

Tyler Graton Well-Known Member

Now this is interesting... those die cracks make me curious. @paddyman98 you should check this out.

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I did look at it. Weird.
    But I think it's just some strange soldering experiment. Struck through would be mainly into and below the surface.
    I disagree on the Die Crack.. They aren't.

Last edited: Jun 10, 2017
    Paddy54 likes this.
  9. Circus

Circus Tokens Only !! TEC#4981

It does look like a bad attempt at making a fisher.