What Coins To Look For In Circulation?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by jmfsms, Apr 27, 2005.

1. jmfsms

jmfsms New Member

I am new to coin collecting and I am curious what US coins are still in circulation that already are or may be worth looking for.

I look forward to seeing posts along with any resources/links available.

Thanks All, Jay

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bluegill

Bluegill Senior Member

You can still find silver coins (silver nickels from WWII seem to be the easiest to find, for me), and wheat pennies aren't terribly difficult to find.

I get half dollars and look for silver or silver clad. I found sixteen in a small batch a few weeks ago, but those are about the only ones I've found in a long time.

I have hopes of finding some mint errors, but I haven't yet.

Since I don't have much money to spend on coin collecting, sorting through change is one of the few releases I have!

Now when I find older coins, I compare them to the ones I have in my folders at home. If they are in better shape, I swap them out.

In the past couple of years I've found the silver clad half dollars, a silver Canadian quarter, some very pretty coins from the Cayman Islands, a couple of silver nickels, some wheat pennies (mostly from the 50s, but occasionally something older). Nothing valuable, but I get my kicks.

4. jmfsms

jmfsms New Member

Silver Nickels and Half Dollars

I'm a newbie, so here's my stupid questions:

Are there silver dimes? How do you tell if a nickel or half dollar is silver, by weight, year, etc.? What is the difference between silver and silver-clad?

Thanks in Advance, Jay

5. I Palindrome I

I Palindrome I Senior Member

The easiest way to tell a silver coin from the copper-nickel clad coins that are in circulation is to look at the edge. If you see two bands, one copper in color and one that looks silver, it's a clad coin. If it's "pure" silver, then it's a silver coin.