What a beautiful coin. 1954 S One Cent

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by RachelRuth, Jan 17, 2018.

1. RachelRuth

RachelRuth Active Member

This is such a gorgeous coin, especially considering it came from a bank roll. Anyone see anything worth noting on it? I absolutely love the color and it almost looks as if it's got some (very little) doubled areas in it.

Thanks and goodnight!
    Rachel

Attached Files:

calishield and TexAg like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A picture of the Obverse side would be nice.

NOS likes this.
  4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I don't see any doubling. Do you have an obverse image?

5. RachelRuth

RachelRuth Active Member

Sorry, it didn't upload all the pictures. Here ya go.

Rachel

Attached Files:

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A bit of a Misaligned Die Strike on the Obverse
    Some evidence of Indirect Image Transfer on the Reverse
    Some circulation wear here and there.

I am no grader so I can't give you one :watching:

7. Kasia

Kasia Got my learning hat on

The coin looks like it might have a little wear on Lincoln's face, so at most, it would grade AU58. Might be less.

No doubling that counts. It shows a little at the We in the motto, but that is not counted as collectible because it is a master die issue that started in 1918 and continued because the same master die was used to create all the obverses between then and the 1960s. One of the odd cases where a doubled die is worth zilch, because it is a universal effect, and not much of one.

352sdeer likes this.
  8. TexAg

TexAg Well-Known Member

Beautiful wheatie, and found in a roll no less!

9. TexAg

TexAg Well-Known Member

Is it that yellow or is it just the lighting?

10. RachelRuth

RachelRuth Active Member