Weird 1936 buffalo nickel error or pmd?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Write2bfree, Feb 22, 2017.

1. Write2bfree

Write2bfree Active Member

Hi all,

Found this nickel and it looks like something hit it from the reverse side really hard. Is this pmd or an error?

Note: the center of the nickel seems perfectly fine.Thank you.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Your Nickel is so old that it could be anything.. could be both
    It's well circulated so it could be either a hit (PMD) or a small Lamination Error.
    Not really that weird :meh:

Pickin and Grinin likes this.
  4. Write2bfree

But wouldn't a pmd type of hit leave an impact marking? Also just curious, if it was a legitimate error, would it still be lamination not a "strike thru"?

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Like I stated.. It's so old that it is hard to say exactly what it could be.

6. MontCollector

MontCollector Well-Known Member

Looks like mostly PMD to me...had a long hard life.

The hole in the hip on reverse I have seen a lot, not sure what causes it, but seems pretty common on well worn Buffs.

Your red arrows, the left one is pointing to more PMD...but the right one is not PMD or an error....Hmm how do i put this...The buffalo on reverse is a bull and is engraved anatomically correct.

Hope that helps you out a little.

Here is the reverse of a 1927 Buff I have with same "hit" on hip. 1927PREV_opt.jpg

Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  7. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Like Paddy said, very worn coin . Study this reverse ( 1930 ) and you will know then .
    328-vert-1.jpg

8. Write2bfree