Weak Die?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by PGND3R, Oct 19, 2020.

1. PGND3R

PGND3R New Member

Pulled from circulation. Looks like the last number of the date and the "LI" in liberty is weak. Also the first part of the motto, "IN" and "WE" are weak. The back looks normal. Any suggestions?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

The die was not weak. The coin shows evidence of being weakly struck which can be caused by several things including something between the die and planchet. I'll let others list some of the other reasons coins can look as this.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Die Deterioration issue.. Not a weak strike error.

5. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

6. PGND3R

PGND3R New Member

Thanks fellas. I have a few "oddball" coins I just wanted a second opinion on. Here is another one, a 2004-D Texas quarter with a rusty tone to it. Not sure if someone messed with it or if it came out of Denver like this. Could have been in a fire at some point?

Attached Files:

7. Insider

I disagree. While you are the long-time resident error expert on CT, I learned that coins as this were either struck on planchets that were out of tolerance, dies that were not set the correct distance apart, or strike thru issues. I have never heard of a deteriorated die that showed a flat surface with no evidence of radial wear. Please explain the reason for your opinion. Thanks in advance.

Another person here does also. Not saying we are correct either so teach us.

Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
  8. paddyman98

Early signs of die deterioration starting on the lettering. Nothing to affect the field yet.
    Thanks for sharing your opinion.

9. Insider