Wandering around a coin show on Sunday....

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by KeviniswhoIam, Mar 14, 2023.

1. KeviniswhoIam

KeviniswhoIam Well-Known Member

So, I was at the Worcester Coin Show on Sunday, perusing the silver.

I was looking to fill some holes in my modern commemorative dollars (I know, I know), and noticed some appear to be hard to find, even with elevated mintages....for example, the 2000 Leif Ericson dollar. I did see a PDCAM go on Heritage last night, but was far too rich for my cheap blood.

It got me to thinking, are some just far more collectible than others, given similar mintages? Do dealers avoid these "never get your money back" coins?

I apologize for my apparent ignorance, as I am fairly new to auctions and coin shows.

David Betts and Inspector43 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Both modern and older commemortives never seem to be a big draw any longer.... and a lot of dealers avoid them as their customer base just has little to no interest.
    Perhaps some of the older and low mintages hold a little more interest.
    I sold ...should say gave away a Maryland in a rattler ...In 63 cac ... and go look at the mintage on that one.

Inspector43 and KeviniswhoIam like this.
  4. BuffaloHunter

BuffaloHunter Short of a full herd Supporter

The major show that I frequent here in the midwest (NWCC in Brooklyn Center, MN) has one dealer that generally keeps two full tables of nothing but modern commems. I will agree that there are some that are not seen as often as the others, and the Leif Ericson is probably on that list. That was a nice design.

If you look at any price guide, the spendier ones are typically going to be the ones you don't see as often at shows.

5. KeviniswhoIam