Wait what? This is ridiculous! Cancelled Coin Craziness

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by paddyman98, May 24, 2024.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I saw this listing on eBay this morning.
    This is just totally wrong! $400.00? :confused:

Screenshot_20240524-075426.png Screenshot_20240524-075439.png

Cancelled aka Waffled coins are NOT mint errors.

Here is a good definition - Collected only as a curiosity, the canceled coins represent real production waste from the mint. The term production waste represents all those coins minted regularly and produced in excessive numbers, or whole batches of coins that have been defective and rejected by quality control.

Some TPG's create neat labels for these. I collect them but I would be stupid to pay $400.00

I paid less than $25.00 for this one..
    From my collection..
    wa.JPG drx.JPG

Post some of your favorite cancelled coins

Last edited: May 24, 2024
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

The slab reads MINT CANCELLED and I’d say how can he have 100% positive feedback?

lardan likes this.
  4. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter

1. You can ASK anything you want. It's not a value until some idjit pays it

Yeah actually, they are. The coins are waffled because they are errors. Albeit you are right that the waffling isn't an error.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Yes and no.
    They were blanks or batches of minted coins that were rejected by quality control for whatever reason.
    I believe that they aren't even cancelled at the US Mints. The company use are supposed to haul them away and destroy them somehow they get into the hands of collectors such as us.

It's like our Sanitation department going through our garbage and selling items they feel can make them a profit.