VTRAQUE VNUM 1741 + CARLUS III 1776 coins

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by zahmed, Jul 3, 2012.

1. zahmed

zahmed New Member

VTRAQUE vnUM 1741_frnt.jpg VTRAQUE vnUM 1741_back.jpg

carlusIII1776_fnt.jpg carlus III-1776_bck.jpg

Hello every one,

I have been passed on by my late Grand father, a coin collection, amongst the collection, these are the two i thought might interest people. Now i do not know if they are real or not ! but as an engineer i know Non-ferous items are non magnetic, i checked these coins on magnet and they don't stick. To me the quality seems ok (specially the second one). but as i said i have no clue what they are worth and how to sell them.

kindly if some one can guide me as to what is the worth of these coins and how can i sell them ?

thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

I am reasonably certain they are both cast fakes.

4. zahmed

zahmed New Member

Really !,
    how can i be sure that they are fake and not real ? how to check them ?

5. Collect89

Collect89 Coin Collector

I was about to write that the coins look to be.... & you should wait to hear from GDJMSP. Then, I saw the post from GDJMSP. I think GDJMSP is spot-on. Sorry.

You could accurately weigh the coins and accurately measure the diameters to see if they are within tolerance for those coins. I suspect that they will be out of tolerance simply based upon the appearance in your photos. The fact remains, you should weigh & measure them to be sure they are fake.

Fake, real, or shipwreck salvage, do not attempt to clean them.

What other coins are in the collection?

6. Collect89

Collect89 Coin Collector

Almost forgot to say welcome to the CoinTalk forum. :smile
    :welcome:

7. zahmed

zahmed New Member

and i thought grandpa left me a fortune :)