very strange 1942 merc dime

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by heavycam.monstervam, Mar 4, 2015.

1. heavycam.monstervam

heavycam.monstervam Outlaw Trucker & Coin Hillbilly

Hey guys, i picked up this odd looking dime today for $2... I am not sure what is going on here but i thought it was pretty cool anyway... Does this look like pmd? Could it be some sort of strike through error?? Im eager to hear your opinions! :D So what say you?? CAM01564.jpg CAM01569.jpg CAM01581.jpg CAM01568.jpg CAM01574.jpg CAM01578.jpg CAM01579.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hommer

Hommer Curator of Semi Precious Coinage

A dropped torch comes to mind.

4. deacon2828

deacon2828 Active Member

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

There is no torch on a Mercury Dime. More like a Lamination and/or Planchet Flaw.

6. heavycam.monstervam

Is that a mix between a dropped letter and a full torch?? Must be uber rare then!!

7. heavycam.monstervam

I never thought about it being a lamination, i dont recall ever seeing one on a merc dime either... is it worth anything??

8. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

I really wanted to say PMD, but it seems like something that extensive would have some effects on the reverse as well.

9. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It looks like dirt to me. The coin isn't rare, so have you tried dipping it in acetone?

Chris

10. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

I was thinking an old sharpie mark, or corrosion. It seems to have filled the depressions and worn off the raised areas. Acetone it~ if gone a marker, if not, I would dip EZ-Est. If Gone its corrosion, if not, at least it is cleaner.

11. heavycam.monstervam

Oh sorry i should have mentioned: its definitely recessed on the coin... like a grease error would be... 1 more clue: it weighs in @ 2.5 grams as well so no metal loss either

12. Hommer