Veriety or Error? 1969 D no FG

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Hommer, May 25, 2016.

1. Hommer

Hommer Curator of Semi Precious Coinage

I found this coin today, literally, I picked it up off the sidewalk.
    IMAG0318_1.jpg PART_1464218997623_IMAG0326-2.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's Misaligned. Look at the Left side of the Obverse :wideyed:

Hommer likes this.
  4. Hommer

That too. I wasn't familiar with this coin. When I found it, I picked it up and just put it in my shirt pocket. I louped it when got home and noticed the initials were gone. I knew it couldn't be that great of a find, because if it were, I would have read at least a thousand threads about it on here, so I Googled it. I was quite surprised with what I found, including threads on Coin Talk.
    Many start with the argument that it's a filled die and others say it was left off the die.
    I wouldn't know, I wasn't there. What I do know from my limited research, is it is listed in Cherry Pickers as FS-901.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nice. Might be the picture but could it be a Floating Rooftop also?

6. Hommer

It is. Not the best photos. Took them with the wife's cell phone.

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. messydesk

messydesk Well-Known Member

It can't be left off the die, as it's part of the hub that's used to make the die. It would be like leaving off Lincoln's bow tie.

It's probably an overpolished die, which would also explain the floating rooftop.

8. Hommer

I agree. The floating roof is a dead giveaway. A filled die, as in the 22 no D, is considered a veriety, but an over polished die is an error or should be. I read a lot of arguments for both on this one.