VerdiChem Success on High Grade Ancient Coin!

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Ancientnoob, Jun 20, 2013.

1. Ancientnoob

Ancientnoob Money Changer

Recently I purchased a high grade Justinian I 40 Numis struck in AD 541. The coin in the auction pictures looked great but in hand I recognized a growing evil. Verdigris!! I nearly died. This was active light green powdery oxidation. This would surely be the end of the coin. Untreated this large coin would have gotten smaller and smaller and eventually turned into a flaky, green and indistinguishable piece of worthless metal.
    As a chemist by trade and a hardcore ancient coin collector, I felt I understood enough of the process to successfully stop and reverse the process, without damaging the relic.
    The coin flaunts a very even chocolate patina and a strong strike. It presents clear and defined fields over a large surface area. A lot of flat area that if damaged would hurt the coins appeal.

I felt as though spot treatment would not be enough considering concentration of the Verdigris along rim edge which covered a solid third of the coin. I have had the coin for a little over a week and have been able to measure the the growth of the Verdigris and it was a rapid growth increasing in surface area approx 20 percent in that time. A rate that I have never seen on any of my coins. I knew I would have to act fast, in order to conserve the relic.

I have several of the popular chemicals at my disposal. I have reagent grade Acetone, deionized water and Xylene at my disposal. So I had several options.None of these seemed appropriate. Water or Acetone would be unreactive in this case and I suspect that the Xylene would or could dissolve unknown organic components of the patina. I needed to preserve patina but I needed something tough acting.