USA coin values?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by 1913nickel, Feb 12, 2017.

1. 1913nickel

1913nickel Active Member

Hi guys, I am petty new at collecting and I'm not very good at knowing the value of the coins I buy. I have the red book and I know that a lot of the prices in there are not accurate. I was wondering if u guys know of a website that tells u accurate prices of what to pay for USA coins. I don't want to spend $100s on the grey sheets but is there anything as accurate that would give me wholesale prices? Thx

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Victor

Victor Coin Collector

There is something wrong with all of them.

eddiespin likes this.
  4. atcarroll

atcarroll Well-Known Member

The best way to determine up to date real market values is to look at auction results, go to ebay or another auction site and look at sold listings.

5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

6. TommyP

TommyP BS detector

No standardized
    No standardized platform other than club grey sheet that I'm aware of.

7. 1913nickel

1913nickel Active Member

Thx That's awesome!

8. Gilbert

Gilbert Part time collector Supporter

Keep in mind that just because a coin fetched X dollars one day, a nearly identical coin might very well not sell for anywhere near that the following day.

ldhair likes this.
  9. Mint Mark

Mint Mark Junior Member

Precisely why a forum such as this is invaluable. But it is the ago-old question. When I was a kid, we used to buy the little 25 cent book of coin values in the grocery store. Even those you had to take with a grain of salt. Nothing (rare coin, rare car, rare anything) is "worth" any more than what someone will give you for it.

Gilbert and atcarroll like this.
  10. 1913nickel

1913nickel Active Member

I know but I just want a website that tells me what the average dealer would pay for us coins

11. Gilbert

Gilbert Part time collector Supporter