US Mint Mailer

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by CHARLES GINETTO, Nov 19, 2018.

1. CHARLES GINETTO

CHARLES GINETTO Active Member

Over the weekend I received a mailer from the US Mint. It was offering one ounce Presidential Medals, Washington and Adams first and also an anniversary Morgan dollar without the "one dollar." Is the Mint just trying to make money or do theses issues actually have some numismatic value?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Can you show us what was sent to you.
    I don't think that that it could be the actual US Mint. I have never heard of an anniversary Morgan without a date o_O

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That sounds like an Oxymoron :wacky:

Spark1951, Amos 811, Morpheus and 2 others like this.
  5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I'm thinking it was a Liberty dollar medal. They are collectable and have a value. It's a gamble if it's value will ever go up.

6. longarm

longarm Well-Known Member

7. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

I have been collecting coins and stamps since 1948. I have almost everything from the 20th century and a good bunch from the 19th. The question "...is the mint just trying to make money?" Yes. I quit stamp collecting in 2002 and no longer buy new issues from the US Mint. USPS is printing nothing but 'wallpaper' and, the US mint is producing 'ballast'. Hundreds of new stamps and coins is difficult for anyone to keep up with. It is no fun anymore. Just very expensive.

Joea59 and Neal like this.
  8. messydesk

messydesk Well-Known Member

This doesn't sound like the actual US Mint, rather some other "Mint" that is trying to sound like the US Mint. If that is the case, then this stuff is likely worthless.

9. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".