Unwanted Foreign Coins

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Alaska Dude, Jun 25, 2019.

1. Alaska Dude

Alaska Dude New Member

What do you do with unwanted foreign coins you find at the coin counting machine?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

Give them away usually.

4. Bill in Burl

Bill in Burl Collector

The paper delivery kids love them.

5. Snowman

Snowman Senior Member

Mine usually go the coin club auction table - handful for a dollar

6. willieboyd2

willieboyd2 First Class Poster

I left some in a Coinstar machine.

:)

7. swish513

swish513 Penny & Cent Collector

I like foreign coins.

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

If you can determine what country each coin is from then take a trip there and spend them. But they might be demonitized (no longer used)

9. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

FleaBay is your friend. Post 10 of each country, 99c start price 99c shipping

10. philologus_1

philologus_1 Supporter! Supporter

I recently attended a coin show, walked up to a table which included a pick box of world coins, and asked the dealer if I could add about 60 coins to his box. He said 'yep!', I said 'awesome!', dumped the coins, and walked away with a smile. It was a veritable "Win-Win" in my book. Most were coins I had bought (overpaid) as a child from Littleton. I would have listed them on eBay, but it's just not worth the time. Sadly. :-/

Stevearino, buckeye73 and paddyman98 like this.
  11. harrync

harrync Well-Known Member

I'm at that age where when giving away stuff I say "Thanks for taking that off my hands." Your coin dealer story reminds me of the time I was in a used book store and a little boy brought in a wagon-full of books. Dealer says "$5 for the whole lot, $10 just for this one book." Dealer explains: "I am in effect charging you $5 for me to take all those other books out to my dumpster."

philologus_1 likes this.
  12. Nyatii