Unofficial CoinTalk Dark Side “Coin” Grade Poll #3 1797 Large Cent

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Jack D. Young, Dec 30, 2019.

?

Guess the original TPG Grade of this example?

Poll closed Jan 2, 2020.
  1. VF-35

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. XF-45

4 vote(s)
    20.0%
  3. AU-50 Details

6 vote(s)
    30.0%
  4. AU-55

3 vote(s)
    15.0%
  5. Another “counterfeit as heck and doesn’t matter”!

7 vote(s)
    35.0%
  1. Jack D. Young

Jack D. Young Well-Known Member

OK, looking for the TPG grade for this well detailed example; details of this one would place it in the top 20 for the variety (S-139).

If you are so inclined, you can also post your details/ net (EAC) grade just for fun…

S139 J. Young-CTalk.jpg

TypeCoin971793 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Why would it be an "unofficial" poll?
    And why is it a "Dark Side"?

Does it have anything to do with it being counterfeit?
    ;)

mynamespat, Troodon and Jack D. Young like this.
  4. Jack D. Young

Figured it was easier to be unofficial than the "official" Coin Talk anything...

5. Mainebill

Mainebill Bethany Danielle

I think it’s a scary good counterfeit by the weakness in the hair and the porosity that looks more planchet related or deliberate than true environmental damage. This one not being a series I study as much could get by me

Troodon and Jack D. Young like this.
  6. Mainebill

Especially as the porosity is just on the portrait not on the fields where it would more likely be. Probably from the environmental damaged host coin for the transfer dies.

Troodon likes this.
  7. Mainebill

Also seeing the same pitting on the lettering date and other details. The more I look at it I realize it’s a counterfeit by transfer dies from a porous genuine host coin why the perfect fields with no pitting

Troodon likes this.
  8. longshot

longshot Enthusiast Supporter