Unique error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Brittany Coe, Sep 3, 2018.

1. Brittany Coe

Brittany Coe Bstingbutterfly

72doubledTobverse.jpg 72doubledS.jpg I have this 1972 cent that, at first glance, looks like a penny that has been used and abused. But! After closer inspection, it seems that what I thought was just damage, may actually be a mint error!! Please take alook at the area in question which is on the obverse next to and below the year near the rim. It appears to have a bit of the memorial from the reverse side of a penny struck on it!!! When you look at the actual reverse of this coin; its memorial building is not showing any error. What do y'all think!? Also as always lol I also see doubling on the motto, even on rim! Any expert advice would be much appreciated!!

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dave363

Dave363 Well-Known Member

I'm no expert but I can tell you that coin is damaged it is not a mint error. JMO
    Dave

*coins, SunnySeaJay and Brittany Coe like this.
  4. Brittany Coe

But the 'damage' on the obverse is clearly a partial stamp of the picture on the reverse! How else could that happen right? If you look at the lines and designs, you can see that its the same as the building on the back of the penny ☺️☺️☺️ which would have to take place at mint right? Or no

Dave363 likes this.
  5. atcarroll

atcarroll Well-Known Member

It got smashed by another coin, the design elements are incused, not relief.

Brittany Coe likes this.
  6. Brittany Coe

7. atcarroll

atcarroll Well-Known Member

The design elements are incused, sunk into the surface in a mirror image, as opposed to being in relief, raised above the surface like on a normal coin. This is an indicator that the design elements came from another coin being smashed against yours, after it left the mint.

*coins, JCro57, Brittany Coe and 3 others like this.
  8. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter