Unauthorized AMOS HOBBY Credit Card Transaction

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by princeofwaldo, May 2, 2020.

1. princeofwaldo

princeofwaldo Grateful To Be eX-I/T!

Just received an email from Capital One advising me that Amos Hobby (Coin World publisher among other titles) attempted to charge me $29.99 using an expired Cap One credit card. The email listed the last 4 digits of the card number, which happens to be a card that was cancelled at least three years ago for other fraudulent activity. I have a subscription, that may or may not be close to renewal, but in any case I am used to being billed for renewal rather than having a charge processed without my knowledge. My current subscription was also established after the card they are trying to charge was cancelled. Tried to call Cap One customer service, was told it would be 75 minutes before anyone could take my call. Nothing actually went through so I'm not too terribly concerned about it. The email Cap One sent said I should contact the merchant directly to provide the new expiration date for the card. It listed their number as AMOS HOBBY 800-572-688. Yup, missing a digit. And you would think Cap One would know the account is no longer open so there isn't a new expiration date.

Has anyone else had any billing problems with them?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

The missing number on the end is "5"

Kentucky and princeofwaldo like this.
  4. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

Seems to be a thing these days. Companies that you had a subscription with for one thing or another just automatically renew the subscription without the option of providing bill for the service. It has happened to me several times.

5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

A lot of stuff gets set up to renew automatically. Some even give a discount if you agree to let them do that.