Ultrasonic Coin Cleaning, Part 1

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Publius2, Apr 17, 2021.

1. Publius2

Publius2 Well-Known Member

Last year, I posted a question asking about anyone's experience regarding cleaning coins using an ultrasonic cleaner. As you would expect, I received a multitude of comments, some of which were completely off-topic and some of which were on topic. Several valid, IMHO, points were raised.

So, I've been thinking about it ever since and decided to run some experiments. Being a design engineer, I first started thinking about the criteria. Here are those criteria:

1) The design had to hold the coin by the edge.
    2) Coin had to be held by minimum of points, which is three.
    3) Coin had to be held vertically so that it would not touch anything other the 3-point suspension and so that any dirt/grit/etc. would fall away from the coin and not abrade the coin.
    4) Contact points to the coin must be softer than the coin metal.
    5) All components must be compatible with 150F temperature, water/detergent mixture, acetone, and xylol.
    6) Holder of the coin must not release the coin under the temperature and vibration induced the by ultrasonic cleaner.

So, I finished the holder design and construction today. Photos below. The materials are steel, aluminum and lead. The little fixture holding the coin is a steel 8-32 hex coupler, turned to length and with a molten lead plug poured in the end. I also tested HDPE and nylon in acetone for several hours with no discernible degradation.