TWENTY-SIX YEARS AGO

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by Steve7975, Feb 18, 2020.

1. Steve7975

Steve7975 New Member

Twenty-six years ago, while cashing a check, I was given two crispy, non-circulated $20 bills (series 1996). What would be the present value of these two bills? I also have one $20 bill (series 2004) non-circulated.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

I think the present value would be face value.
    Twenty Six year old coins are only worth face value unless there is something quite special about them.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

26 years ago? Series 1996?

2020 - 26 = 1994 o_O

5. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

Welcome to Coin Talk @Steve7975
    Are you able to provide photos ?
    And, we understand non-circulated but use the word uncirculated.

Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
    capthank likes this.
  6. Kevin Mader

Kevin Mader Fellow Coin Enthusiast Supporter

As noted by our fellow enthusiasts, unless there is something significant about the bills, they are worth face value. If you have an LCS nearby, you will probably find that they have a myriad of bills, in various conditions, available for sale. You might be shocked to find a common Series 1934 $20 bill in very good condition selling for $22...and that includes the vinyl sleeve it's stuck in.

7. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

From time to time I'll go to my Credit Union and get a truly uncirculated, batch of 100 bills still in the BEP strap and store those away.

You'll see on eBay people trying to sell a 100 note batch, parts of one or even a bundle for more than face value. I don't know how they even break even after fees and stuff.

It's not very rare, it becomes just the knowledge of where and how to get uncirculated notes.

8. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

If 1996 is old, I’m really really old.

DEA, JeffC, Kentucky and 3 others like this.
  9. Clawcoins