Twenty dollar 'Specimen'?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by Suzie, Feb 15, 2019.

1. Suzie

Suzie New Member

From an ATM, I received a $20 bill stamped Specimen. Ive read up, and it Ddoes have a serial number that begins with ML, and a G at the end. Says Series 2013, Treasurer signatory's name is Rios I think. Paper feels funny... different. It is worn as uf been in circulation. Anyone able to tell me what this is? Please, thank you. Im afraid the ATM gave me fake money.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. thomas mozzillo

thomas mozzillo Well-Known Member

Welcome to Coin Talk. Photos would be helpful.

Hookman likes this.
  4. Hookman

Hookman Well-Known Member

Here's an older thread on this subject.
    Although I have no real answer to your question.
    specimen-bill.204830

5. mpcusa

mpcusa "Official C.T. TROLL SWEEPER"

How about a pic ??

NOS and Hookman like this.
  6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

No good answers without pictures.

Hookman likes this.
  7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

8. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Without a photo, I am going to say the bill is fine. And someone with a rubber stamp, just stamped it SPECIMEN to be funny.
    Does it have watermarks and a security thread?

Hookman likes this.
  9. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

If it was from the ATM at my bank it would be fine. They are required to look at every bill before putting it into the ATM. We need pictures to make a more proper analysis.

Welcome to CT.

Hookman likes this.
  10. XQZZME

XQZZME New Member

I have 2 bills that I found marked “specimen” on the back & “copy money” on the front. I have never see this before. Is this fake money?

11. XQZZME

XQZZME New Member

056E608B-2630-4BCE-A89E-A3A5A98A07BA.jpeg

Attached Files:

George McClellan likes this.
  12. MEC2

MEC2 Enormous Member