Translating weirdly written letter?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Dansco_Dude, Apr 14, 2024.

1. Dansco_Dude

Dansco_Dude Active Member

Help Requested!

This letter was included in one of my old Dansco albums. But it appears to be written in some foreign language. It is almost bordering on hieroglyphics. I think the author of the letter may have been Greek.

Has anyone seen this before? How would I go about translating this?

[​IMG]

-jeffB likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Spark1951

Spark1951 Accomplishment, not Activity

“Congratulations on winning a set of
    California Mission Medals in bronze.
    Please call me or come to my office
    so that I may record your name
    and address and thus assure you
    of receiving the remaining medals
    as they are issued. We will also
    replace the enclosed album with
    our new and improved model,
    which is now in production.”

…Spark

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You are kidding right?
    I read the message written in script in just a few seconds o_O

5. Parthicus

Parthicus Well-Known Member

Um, is this a late April Fool's joke? Surely the ability to read cursive script hasn't disappeared that quickly?

6. wxcoin

wxcoin Getting no respect since I was a baby

I thought that it was Klingon.

7. derkerlegand

derkerlegand Well-Known Member

8. Joshua Lemons

Joshua Lemons Well-Known Member

It's in English.
    You would think, but at my work, I've had at least two young new hires that have asked me to print the names on my vital sign sheets because they couldn't read cursive. And my penmanship is quite good, so it wasn't a matter of sloppy handwriting.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Apparently, they don't teach cursive any more. So to a younger person, this would in fact be illegible.

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  10. ToughCOINS