Trajan Aeternitas Denarius

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by IMP Shogun, Dec 30, 2020.

1. IMP Shogun

IMP Shogun Well-Known Member

I'm starting off with the money shot, and it goes without saying I'm still learning how to take pictures/playing with equipment but the coin is spectacular:

[​IMG]
    Trajan 98-117 A.D. denarius Aeternitas struck 103-111 in Rome
    3.214; Trajan Collection / Adoptive Emperors
    IMP TRAIANO AVG GER DAC P M TR P
    COS V P P S P Q R OPTIMO PRINC AET-AVG
    Aeternitas standing to left, holding heads of Sol and Luna
    RIC II 91; BMCRE 374-376; Woytek 344b; RSC 3a
    18.0mm 3.37g 7h

The above is a type I've been wanting to add as I feel it has a unique obverse and signifying Rome's dominance of the world for eternity (both sun and moon were thought to be eternal). But as we know, like the divorce attorney advertisement says, even diamonds aren't forever...

Aeternitas, or Eternitas, is the Roman Goddess Who is the personification of eternity. She seems to be a somewhat late addition to the Roman pantheon, and was featured on many coins of the Imperial era. Like other abstract concepts which were made into Goddesses, Aeternitas was often used as an attribute of the Emperor or Imperial family as a sort of public relations maneuver. She symbolized the stability and (hopefully) eternal staying power of the Empire, and could also be used to commemorate members of the Imperial family who had died and been deified, as a sign that after deification they were considered eternal, and as a declaration that they would never be forgotten.