Trade $ 1878 CC, counterfeit or genuine

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by kMANN, Feb 9, 2016.

1. kMANN

kMANN Member

I bought this coin many years ago, and Wonder if it's genuine.
    Weight: 27.20 gram
    Diameter: 37.95 m.m
    Thickness: 2.8 m.m

Can anybody help mee ?
    Thank's from Norway trade_12.jpg trade_10.jpg trade_11.jpg

anderspud likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

I'm not that good at Trade Dollars. It looks real to me but I'd also add that it has been harshly cleaned.

kMANN and spirityoda like this.
  4. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Here's an image from PCGS and the mint mark on the OP coin isn't even close .

Could just be a different die then the OP coin .

86.jpg

kMANN likes this.
  5. kMANN

kMANN Member

Tank you for your answer

6. Stevearino

Stevearino Well-Known Member

Maine Bill will hopefully see this post and respond. My first impression is also that it looks real, but see many hairlines from cleaning. kMANN, I have PMed you (sent a personal message).
    Steve

kMANN likes this.
  7. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

Looks good at 1st glance , but I haven't check the die marriages . I have to go out will check later . It's a correct Type II/II for the date now if the MM checks out it should be fine .

micbraun likes this.
  8. Morgandude11

Morgandude11 As long as it's Silver, I'm listening

The more important question is: Why do people insist on buying raw trade dollars, or even considering them, if they don't know the series? They have an astronomical counterfeit rate, and if not counterfeit, are almost always cleaned. They are not cheap coins, so why take the risk???????

Dimedude2 and kMANN like this.
  9. kMANN

kMANN Member

In Europa almost all coins are sold unslapped. No I have learned that is othervice in the US

10. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...