TPG Verifications in Face to Face Transactions

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Randy Abercrombie, Feb 23, 2020.

1. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

There is a very good thread going on in the US Coins section that concerns the proliferation of bogus TPG slabs. It brings to mind a question that troubles me. More a question of ethics, really.

I am a rabid hobbyist and not nearly as numismatically educated as most here. Being older with a little more disposable income, I tend to purchase better coins. The TPG verification tools are extremely helpful to me particularly if I am buying from an unfamiliar source. It is the face to face transactions that trouble me a bit. When I am walking the floor of a show and am interested in a dealers coin. Six other folks are awaiting that dealers attention at the same time. Is it in poor taste to pull up the TPG verification tool? I am reasonably seasoned enough to detect a problem, but the counterfeiters are getting better. And thing is, I don’t know the man whose coin I am interested in at a show or at an unfamiliar shop.

Is it unheard of to do TPG verifications when dealing face to face with someone you don’t know?

YoloBagels and Inspector43 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

I personally think if you are disposing of income, you should use what ever tools you have commensurate with the potential purchase value. But, I don't buy slabbed coins and don't understand the verification tool you speak of.

YoloBagels and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  4. okbustchaser

okbustchaser I may be old but I still appreciate a pretty bust Supporter

If you have already made a buying decision pending verification of the slab then I don't think there should be any problem with you checking with PCGS/NGC.