To wash or NOT to wash?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Sherry3388, Mar 23, 2018.

1. Sherry3388

Sherry3388 New Member

I am very new to coin collecting and am learning...
    I inherited a coin collection last summer when my uncle passed away and prior to this inheritance, I had never been a collector.
    Since then, I've been researching a bit...and have read several times about "washing of coins". Some say no, some say a light, soap & water wash is ok...etc..
    I'm asking for opinions about old coins...should I wash them in light soap water prior to putting them into flips...or no.?.?
    I have several "blue books" filled with old dimes, nickels and pennies ...but they are very old and dirty looking.
    Thanks in advance!
    Sherry
    Mercury Dimes1.png

Nathan401 and FrugalCO like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

On circulated coins a light soap and water wash would be fine. Others here will say to let that dry and dip them in Acetone and allow to dry. Myself, I have never done the acetone. Just don't use anything abrasive. No toothbrushes or anything of that kind. Just a simple wash with the fingers you should be OK. Now if you happen upon some finer specimens. Coins that look like they haven't seen circulation you may want to abstain from the wash until some more seasoned pro's jump on board and respond. Welcome to the finest hobby in the world.

FrugalCO likes this.
  4. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

IMO, it's best to leave them as they are.

V. Kurt Bellman and Insider like this.
  5. Sherry3388

Sherry3388 New Member

OK...thank you, Randy!
    And per your terminology "finer specimens" - are you possibly referring to ones with like a purple/green taint?

6. Walt Knoch

Walt Knoch It sure is