To Dip Or Not to Dip?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by green18, Oct 16, 2021.

?

Dip?

Poll closed Oct 23, 2021.
  1. Yes

22.6%
  2. No

58.1%
  3. What? Are you nuts?

12.9%
  4. Go soak you're head Green. You take a dip

6.5%
  1. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

And if so, with what?

Good afternoon guys. Back in 2014 I picked up a three coin set of Cincinnati Music Hall Commems (raw) and I hadn't pulled them out of storage for a few years, so when I did 2 days ago, I discovered some distracting 'smudge' around Stevens face on both the San fran and Denver coins. If this was anywhere else on the coin, I'd probably let it slide but it does bother me a bit. I popped them out of the 2x2's they were in, let them soak in a jar of acetone for a day, and that helped a bit but the problem is not solved (as I figured it wouldn't be). I don't want to dip the whole coin (as I've never done so before) but was wondering if a confined to 'distraction dip' (Ezest with a Q-tip?) might help...........or make matters worse? Anyway, here are some pics that I hope might be helpful to elicit advice.

DSC_5280-horz.jpg DSC_5280.JPG DSC_5283-horz.jpg DSC_5283.JPG

And take a moment to add a response to the poll. Choose wisely.......I'll be taking names. devil.gif

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Morgandude11

Morgandude11 As long as it's Silver, I'm listening

Nooooooo. They are beautiful coins. The carbon spot on the 39s obverse is a minor distraction, but I would be concerned about having a negative impact upon the really nice luster that the coins have.

TonkawaBill, GH#75, imrich and 3 others like this.
  4. CoinCorgi

CoinCorgi Tell your dog I said hi!

Don't dip anything but yourself. You'll probably replace one distraction with another.

5. MIGuy

MIGuy Supporter! Supporter

I think they are beautiful as is, I wouldn't dip.

TonkawaBill, Bob Evancho and green18 like this.
  6. hotwheelsearl