To Dip or Not Dip Dull-Looking Franklins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by WillGK, Jan 23, 2021.

1. WillGK

WillGK Member

Background: I’ve told my story here before but, again, I put quite a number of coins away, long ago, and now am getting them sorted, and the better ones graded, etc. I knew enough back then to buy some nicer coins, but in many ways I am a novice because I never really knew what I was doing, so I would appreciate some advice.

My question today is about eye appeal. I have a large number of Franklins, some in the higher grades. Rick Tomaska is a resource that I came across, who seems good on Franklins. Here is a piece, posted on the PCGS site:

https://www.pcgs.com/news/why-franklin-half-dollars-of-the-same-date-and-grade

Note the three 57-D Franklins. The two on the right have more value to him. I have a number of nice coins that look better than the one on the left, but still are pretty dull in hand. Sort of a gun metal grey look, in the early stages of what I think is meant by “white” coins...? Tomaska says that the dull sort of toning that I am wondering about won’t affect the grade that the TPG will put on it. But there will be considerably less market appeal.

Easy enough to make such coins look like the one on the far right. So I ran an experiment. I took one of my low grade Franklins, bought some silver dip, and dipped it. You can see the before and after photos (colors not quite accurate). 26CFE448-01EE-4B21-B0F0-CE0823D5D895.jpeg 1CC6B8ED-A502-45A7-B4A9-4BEEA4324AED.jpeg 137540EF-EB70-48BE-8257-0EE8F38ECCDA.jpeg 27AFB798-7B14-4D65-81F9-468F843FD4A1.jpeg 8A1B39D4-E5F9-487B-93F9-816E3F119F89.jpeg ABF4ADD7-5B38-49A1-8A3F-05B42129D951.jpeg