Thoughts on this 1880 O VAM 4 Morgan. VAM collectors please look

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Coinsnake, Jul 20, 2011.

1. Coinsnake

Coinsnake MorganMan

Bought this today for a little over melt and apparently it is possibly worth a lot more. I'm not a VAM collector but my research says it's a VAM 4. I'm pretty sure it's DMPL or at least PL. I'm not very good at figuring the premiums on these factors so any help would be appreciated. I grade it at MS 61-62 range because of the marks in the fields. Lady Liberty & Eagle are basically flawless & frosty. Any info on value opinions will be appreciated also.The photos are the best I can get right now. Thank you so much![​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Coinsnake

Coinsnake MorganMan

4. blu62vette

blu62vette Member

The good thing is a 1880-O Vam 4 is included in some major variety sets. They do exists in PL/DMPL but not in huge numbers. A pricing example would be a 1880-O in 63DMPL is 1500 according to PCGS, the VAM 4 is $2000. Dont expect those numbers but it should help with you thoughts on premium. I have a 63PL but it is an OGH so I have not yet had it attributed. If yours lansd in a PCGS holder please let me know......

5. Coinsnake

Coinsnake MorganMan

I'm currently not a member of either PCGS or NGC. I had an NGC membership but it is now expired. I don't really plan to join any right now. I do want to have it graded & slabbed but there is really no dealers or shops in Alaska that submit for customers.

6. Coinsnake

Coinsnake MorganMan

Any more VAM collectors care to chime in?

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Your photo of the mintmark is a little blurry, but it does look like the small "O". It's possible that it could be a repolished DMPL. I think I see some diagonal polishing marks around the tailfeathers and arrows. If it does go MS62DMPL, it's about a $2K coin.

Chris

8. BUncirculated

BUncirculated Well-Known Member