Thinking About Starting a Coin Club

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Neptune, Oct 7, 2002.

1. Neptune

Neptune & Amphitrite

I live kind of 'near' an almost major city. There is one little coin shop - the owner used to be in charge of coin club, but quit because nobody wanted to help him. Twice I have asked him if there is a local coin club, and twice he told me no - years apart, because nobody wants to take on any responsibility.

Here's my thoughts. Since I really don't like to travel "to town" (alot because I live kind of in boonies) - I was thinking of starting a coin club for this area - online.

Since I am relatively new to this hobby - I don't have a 'whole' lot of expertise to offer - except I could open the door for those in the area to "find each other" - and maybe assist in planning meetings, emailing, getting organized etc. I figure eventually somebody with real expertise may "show up" to assist me. (Maybe, willing to give it a shot and at least try.)

Just wanted to throw this out there for your opinions - good or bad. I would really like to get to know some other folks around here to share coin info with - and there just doesn't appear to be much at all.

This is just something that I am mulling around with - not sure if I really want to do this - or not - Any advice welcomed.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Peter T Davis

Peter T Davis Hammer at the Ready Moderator

Hi,
    I could help you with the building the website part of it. First step would be for you to get a domain, if you want, or you could use a subdomain I could provide. Send me a PM if you're interested.
    Peter

Cheech9712 likes this.
  4. chrisfuccione

chrisfuccione Member

From what I 've been reading these online forums are like a coin club. But if you want to go further count me in for any help. Chris

5. Neptune

Neptune & Amphitrite