Thickness of final plating on U.S. Lincoln 2010 To Date Shield Cents

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by ToddB67, Sep 9, 2017.

1. ToddB67

ToddB67 Junior Member

Thanks for checking in here !

Where can I find out, or does anyone know for sure, what the thickness is of the final pure copper plating on U.S. Lincoln (2010 To Date) Shield Cents.

I appreciate your help.

ToddB67

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

Copper makes up only 2.5% of the weight of modern Cents and the coating is 20 microns thick. I'm sure there is an acceptable variance to this, but it is probably a pretty tight tolerance.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I just want to know.. why?
    Is it of some importance? And I ask this question in all seriousness.

Last edited: Sep 9, 2017
  5. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

The figures I have seen and use are between one and two ten thousandths of an inch.

6. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

I'm not sure, but 20 microns is 0.000787402".

7. ToddB67

ToddB67 Junior Member

Thanks Kirkuleez !

After searching far and wide on the Internet, I couldn't find a credible source giving that specification. :(

As I collect information, I always include my sources, for future reference......this is good basic record keeping practice. ;)

Do you mind telling me your source for that "20 microns thick" answer ?

ToddB67

8. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

9. ToddB67

ToddB67 Junior Member

Kirkuleez,

That's correct ! Rounded four places to the right of the decimal would be .0008" or eight-ten-thousandths. One micron = .000039 inch. (The link and additional book source below give proofs.)

Goes without saying, .0008" is really thin ! ....a little less than .001", or less-than-one-thousandths of an inch of pure copper on modern Shield pennies. No wonder ground minerals eat through the plating and into the zinc/copper alloy planchet so relatively soon ! :rolleyes: