these clipped coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Blue Lue Boyle, Nov 22, 2015.

1. Howdy, good evening, everyone.

I've come to see that with many minting coin errors, there are people who try to replicate the error themselves w/ anything from chemicals to some types of machinery...I imagine clipped coins are no different.

And, so, I pulled these coins from a big, assorted lot and am wondering if they look like they were clipped naturally/thru the minting process or if maybe someone did this on their own. I photographed the three pennies, two nickels, and two dimes from the obverse and the reverse, I know the lighting's not great, I usually take the photos outside w/ less reflection, but it's dark out now, so...for what it's worth.

Thanks,

Lou

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

Just ask yourself how do you get a square clip from a round punch press

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's possible. It's called a straight clip. Remember the punch is punching out blanks. When a sheet of metal is moving along for the blanks to be punched out sometimes they get jammed so in actuality the next blanks to be punched out are areas that are already clipped or the edge or the end of the sheet (that's where the straight clip happens)

tommyc03 and Markus1959 like this.
  5. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

Easy, end of strip

Blue Lue Boyle and paddyman98 like this.
  6. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

One punched slightly off of the strip.

Blue Lue Boyle and paddyman98 like this.
  7. paddyman98

Hi Lou, welcome to Cointalk.
    Most of your coins look like manmade clips. Maybe 1 or 2 look like true clipped planchets.

UnCommonCents and ldhair like this.
  8. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

I'm not too sure that all of them are genuine clips.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. green18