There be gold in them rolls :-)

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by David Post, Feb 22, 2019.

1. David Post

David Post Good times

Found in a nickel roll this morning . . . thoughts? I'm sure it's not worth anything other than face value but I'm not even sure it's a real coin. Sounds like a nickel when dropped on my desk though.
    gold nickel front.JPG gold nickel back.JPG

RoadDog, Seattlite86 and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

5. David Post

David Post Good times

Being gold plated, does it make it valuable (more than face value) or collectible?

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Not at all.. Unfortunately people purchase these plated coins which are actually damaged thinking they have value or that they will have a premium in the future.. Waste of money!

7. David Post

David Post Good times

Some people just have more money than brains I guess :)

8. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

If I remember correctly, Mike Meezak, the famous TV hawker of overpriced coins made himself a tidy fortune back in the height of the state quarter campaign... I believe his shtick was along the lines of sending him a big cash outlay and you would receive as they were issued a mint state Philly and San Fran quarter... AND a 24 carat gold plated state quarter... I know for years I would run into the gold plated quarters from time to time in my pocket change..... Once the novelty wears off, these type things just find their way back into circulation. What else ya gonna do with em when the famous "red oak display box" wears out?

Seattlite86 likes this.
  9. brandon spiegel

brandon spiegel Brandon Spiegel